Phillipino “Models” tempt you to go to webcam sites which are phishing websites.
Firstly i would like to commend on your noble non-profit effort of public awareness and it kept me reading and learning about scams the whole day so I can educate my friends about its dangers. Being smart is not enough to deter the cunning minds of confidence tricksters. I would like to join your noble efforts by writing in about a very dodgy matter that has been plaguing social networking sites and IMs.
What is happening is a mix of Nigerian scams, romance scams and would be a phishing scam, and usually holds the persona of a highly attractive Philippine model. They usually target social networking sites such as Tagged or Friendster to tempt unsuspecting men to add them with suggestive remarks and pictures in their profile. One such example is http://www.tagged.com/neiljhoy20 or http://www.tagged.com/naomisexy20 whose persona i have chatted with.
They usually pretend to be promiscuous girls out for a fun time during a modeling stint in Singapore but before the guy can meet him, he has to register and pay for this webcam site to vote her as the top model, which may be a phishing site offering a three day free trial but credit card information is still required and it always hides the method of canceling subscription. The ‘Philippine model is well versed in the site and will assure you to assist you in cancelling it before the free trial ends. An example of such site is http://www.streamate.com/?DF=0&AFNO=1-0-607937-342979&UHNSMTY=221 I do not know what will happen if the billing information is keyed in.
While some may appear as genuine chatters talking to you as a live person, some are blatantly bots who copy and paste text into the chat box. A lot of strange emails will add at my friends’ contact lists with suggestive email addresses and display pictures such as paula_pussy69@hotmail.com, brittneygillam11@hotmail.com and brittneygillam11@hotmail.com. They will have links to webcam sites as their shoutouts and will suddenly copy and paste text saying “i’m 21/f your a male right? nice, I just got off work and finally got some time to relax which site did i msg you from again? I know a way we can chat and have a better time.. do you cam? Well i don’t do yahoo cam or any other cam because i have been recorded before… But i do know one site you can watch me on cam, that assures me no one records…” http://www.freecamlink.net/bj65q http://www.mywebcamcrush.com/Lookn4Him
I have tried humoring these people by insulting them and they will retaliate by saying “the only whore around here is ur fuken mom , u stupid fuk !!!” but will continue with the copying and pasting. While some of them are blatantly scammers that pose as insults to our intelligence, spamming our contact list with their email address, some are more cunning and I worry that people will lose money registering for these webcam sites. After all, they may deny the guy of meeting them for the night, saying they have not registered for the site to vote for them as the top model amongst the webcam performers in that site. A small token has to be paid via credit card to place votes.
Do these ‘women’ get commission for their referral of people to these sites? Or are these sites owned by their agency to retrieve credit card numbers? These are questions I would really like to know from you via your investigations. Above all, these people are bogus because women, especially attractive ones, not desperate ones do not use the internet to look for random sex, thus the victims will most likely not get what they are promised. Most importantly, money and personal information is involved and I would genuinely like to get to the bottom of this increasing matter, with your professional help.
A new scam is arising and its called the Phillipino Scam.
Related posts:












